

The European Ornithologists' Union

Equal partnership among avian biologists throughout Europe for the advancement of European ornithology

Notice of the 5th General meeting, to be held at Strasbourg (Faculty of Medicine, University of Strasbourg), on Tuesday, 23 August 2005 at 14:00

Agenda

- Minutes of the 4th General Meeting (Chemnitz, August 2003; available at http://www.eou.at/Chemnitzminutes.pdf)
- Report from Council
- Treasurer's report and adoption of the accounts
- Appointment of auditors
- Discussion about proposals from Council as to changes in the operations of the EOU and plans for coming years
- Discussion of proposals from Council for changes in the statutes and voting on those proposals
- Location of the next conference and General Meeting, 2007
- Election of new officers and members of Council
- Any other competent business (Members are asked to notify the Secretary [Wolfgang Fiedler: fiedler@orn.mpg.de] of any other business in advance of the meeting if possible)

Notes on the agenda

Because it proved financially impossible to continue publishing a journal after 2003, no further subscriptions were collected after that year. This means that various changes must be made to the way in which the EOU operates and to its statutes. These will be presented to the General Meeting.

Voting Members

Strictly speaking, only those members who paid a subscription to the EOU in 2003 are legally entitled to vote. However, the officers of the EOU believe that all of those present at the General Meeting should be allowed to express their opinions. Only if there needs to be a vote on particularly contentious issues will it be necessary to restrict the voting to "paid-up" members.



President: Liz Pasztor (Hungary), President-Elect: Jeremy Greenwood (UK), Past-President: Jacques Blondel (France)
Editor: Peter Jones (UK), Council Members: Triantaphyllos Akriotis (GR), Franz Bairlein (D), Emilio Barba (ES), Bruno Faivre (F), Mauro Fasola (I), Anvar B. Kerimov (RUS), Indrikis Krams (LV), Kate Lessells (NL), Pertti Saurola (SF), Tore Slagsvold (N), Karel Weidinger (CZ), Tomasz Wesolowski (PL)

Secretary:
Wolfgang Fiedler,
Max Planck Institute for Ornithology, Vogelwarte
Radolfzell, Schlossallee 2,
D-78315 Radolfzell, Germany
fiedler@orn.mpg.de

Treasurer: Lukas Jenni, Swiss Ornithological Institute, CH-6204 Sempach, Switzerland

lukas.jenni@vogelwarte.ch

Bureau for Membership Registration and Payments Elisabeth Wiprächtiger Swiss Ornithological Institute CH-6204 Sempach, Switzerland Fax: +41 –41 462 97 10

AHO://www.ww/@oll/ali